of Jeju and Nature

I’m a self-proclaimed Nature Girl. Growing up in the woods, and then attending our family cabin the mountains annually since birth, I’ve spent a lot of time running around outside without shoes on and wading through rivers in just thin water shoes. I’ve never really considered it anything much before–it’s only when I come to Asia that I see how…different…this childhood development has made me.

For example, when we reached Jeongbang Waterfall, I ran down the boulders to the waters edge, dropped my giant backpack, ripped my shoes and socks off, and waded into the water barefoot before realizing that my travel companions hadn’t followed me. That in fact, I was the only one who had waded farther than a few feet. I considered this fact for approximately one second before continuing on. I wanted pictures!

IMG_0530_2

from above

IMG_0542

from below

The rocks felt exactly like the rocks in the river at our family cabin, so skipping over them was really no trouble at all.

IMG_0546_2

IMG_0553_2

no one else there got these views

If you notice, the water at the base of the falls is a beautiful blue and I wanted nothing more than to jump in. Unfortunately I wasn’t wearing my swimsuit, so I had to suffice with just getting really really close.

IMG_0703

photo cred: silvia

IMG_0554_2

I’m a wild child sorry not sorry

It just means I have to return to the Jeongbang Falls before I leave Korea, because eventually swimming will be made illegal I’m sure.

IMG_0561_2

I saw this side of myself at Ecoland, a forest turned theme park, as well.

Ecoland was not in the plans. Originally we wanted to take one of the shorter trails up Mt. Hallasan, the symbol of Jeju Island, but our relaxing morning in Hyeopjae and the organic cafe meant we didn’t get up to Jeju-si until 1. When we asked our hostel owner how to get to Hallasan, she gave us this incredulous, “you’re leaving NOW?”

…yes?

Instinctively, I knew 1pm was too late to start a mountain hike. But there weren’t any other days we could go so I was hoping it was possible. It wasn’t.

Reason #2 I must return to Jeju

I was determined to see nature, so the hostel lady recommended I go to Ecoland. I had no idea what to expect, and was actually pleasantly surprised.

Ecoland is like what if someone divided up your average tropical rainforest into distinct sections and ran a train through them.

It’s how honeymooners, children, and old people can experience nature without actually having to physically assert themselves. Which was kind of nice because this WAS vacation.

So, here are Sights of Ecoland:

IMG_0478_2

The Meadow: just like the one I used to catch bugs at behind the nature center

IMG_0474_2

The forest: Just like Palmyra

IMG_0512_2

The Hills: just like a New England boarding school, complete with rolling hills, a rock wall, and grazing horses

IMG_0446_2

A tribute to Don Quijote (?)

IMG_0457

which somehow turned into a slightly racist history

IMG_0453_2

of windmills in general

IMG_0523_2

The Veranda: Just like Italy (I think) complete with romantic gardens, stucco walls, and yes even gelato

Another moment I realized just how callused my feet were:

IMG_0496_2

When the “natural foot massage” greatly massaged everyone else

IMG_0495_2

and didn’t impact me at all

IMG_0522

the bus entrance

IMG_0466_2

Our cute train

Yes Nature. Nature indeed.

3 responses to “of Jeju and Nature

  1. Pingback: of normal weekends and crazy weekends | That One Time in Seoul·

  2. Pingback: my life is a makjang | That One Time in Seoul·

  3. Pingback: Apps You Need to Live in Korea | That One Time in Seoul·

Leave a Reply

