of lanterns and uncertainty

I’m sure there are many cities that have managed to preserve (or rebuilt after destroyed by invaders and wars) their past while building up the future as well. But I’ve never lived in one. And every time I see this contrast I am amazed. But let’s be honest, I’m entertained by strange things.

like 20-something korean boys dancing around in brightly colored outfits

Regardless, I spent Children’s Day in Insa-dong, Bukchon Village, Jogyesa Temple, and Gwanghamun. It really is embarrassing that I’ve been in Korea for almost three months now (!) and haven’t seen these main attractions. So here’s some contrast pictures of these ancient (or rebuilt) buildings.

Bukchon Village: small winding alleys made of traditional houses that actual people still in live in.

IMG_2850

I wonder if these residents complain to each other like, “oh here comes Soellal” or “here comes a Brazilian tour group” (I can say that because I worked at Disney and they were THE WORST) and they shut their doors and pretend they don’t live in a tourist attraction.

IMG_2846

you’re the one who chose to live here

IMG_2848

Gwanghamun: Despite being burnt to the ground, relocated, rebuilt, relocated again, and rebuilt again, Gwanghamun stands proudly at a busy three way intersection. Now in it’s original location, I think it looks like it’s always been there and we’ve just built around it.

IMG_2863

The square in front of Gwanghamun has new statues of old important people, like Admiral Yi Sun-sin and King Sejong, who did a lot of important things.

IMG_2868

Yi Sun-sin: protecting Korea for 600 years

Insadong: an ancient market that now sells fake Chinese stuff to foreigners.

IMG_2765

so many, they have to clarify when it isn’t

IMG_2783

Insadong will definitely require a return trip if not for the shopping than for the Poop Cafe. Yes. You read it. For some reason I don’t understand there are many poop related things in Insadong. Poop candy, poop donuts, and an entire poop cafe. My camera was being sassy at the time so I didn’t get a good picture, but I am not joking around there were street carts selling turd shaped donuts.

am I missing something?

Jogyesa Temple: Everyone is getting ready for the Lotus Lantern Festival which officially begins next week. We will be attending it for the grand finale on Saturday, since we are doing something even more “brilliant” on Sunday. You’ll see what I mean.

IMG_2810

lantern pictures because they’re just so pretty

IMG_2812

IMG_2827

I promise to do more research about the festival before actually attending so I’m not as caught off guard as I was with the 4DX movie, which I’m still a little sensitive over.

Speaking of being sensitive, I had a minifreakout when our Korean head teacher informed us that Director wants us to work on Saturday, May 23.

If that’s ringing a bell to you, that’s because that day is the day of Dream Concert.

We hadn’t heard anything about this, so a foreign coworker went to confirm and yes–she wants two foreign teachers and two korean teachers to come in that Saturday to do who knows what. It’s frustrating because not only is it a Saturday, but it’s a three day weekend so a lot of people already planned things.

I explained my situation to my coworkers before I had an emotional meltdown and they said they didn’t have any plans yet so they’d be happy to do it. Except–Director said she was going to pick who worked.

She will more than likely pick me, since she seems to pick on me for everything lately.

Don’t worry guys I’m going to Dream Concert, no one can stop me. It’s just a matter of how many important people I may have to piss off to get there.

I started writing this post this morning, when everything was swell, and since then everything has gone not only downhill but under the ground and burrowed to the earth’s firey core.

But I’ll talk about that tomorrow. Or maybe I won’t because it makes me a mixture of sad and angry.

Just–look at the pretty pictures and be excited for NEXT weekend, which will be the shiniest one yet. Don’t worry you’ll understand soon.

One response to “of lanterns and uncertainty

  1. Pingback: of directors and sparkles | That One Time in Seoul·

Leave a Reply

