of free stuff

There’s only one way to make up for a fail day like Saturday.

Shopping.

And so, we went on our monthly visit to Myeongdong. You could call it our “I just got a paycheck” trip to Myeongdong. But this time we actually had money to buy things.

except for I don’t have money because of the hospital bills

This time we actually bought things from the shops that gave us freebies instead of pretending to be interested so we could get a snail face mask.

Speaking of freebies–that’s one thing I like about Korea. There definitely is such a thing as a free lunch.

Or at least a free makeover

Or at least a free makeover

They lure you in with a shinee mask and next thing you know you’re buying shinee click gloss and you’re like, “wow they totally just used me” but then they throw little hand creams in your bag as a thank you so really you’re given a gift before, during, and after your shopping experience.

I need this in my life

We also went to a free traditional village–Namsangol. It’s almost pretty outside, so I got some pictures. Seoul has all sorts of free gardens and forests and when it gets warm and pretty I want to visit them all.

a mystical path

a mystical path

Cherry blossoms will forever make me laugh since the Geoje trip

Cherry blossoms will forever make me laugh since the Geoje trip

IMG_2450

IMG_2460

old house that was important once

old house that was important once

a couple having traditional wedding photo shoot #precious

a couple having traditional wedding photo shoot #precious

China flashbacks

China flashbacks

Also, Silvia and I had a “hanbok experience” which basically means we tried on Party City style hanboks and wore them around a traditional house for 20 minutes, waving down at the peasants, while Maria took pictures. I kept thinking, “why isn’t there a line for this why doesn’t everyone want to do this” but then I remembered I’m kind of a weirdo and let’s be honest I didn’t want anyone else taking my hanbok time.

believe it or not, this is probably the least embarrassing picture of me

believe it or not, this is probably the least embarrassing picture of me

Then Maria had a “hangul experience”.

a "hangul" experience

While these experiences were not free, they were cheaper than banana choco latte I have for breakfast every morning.

While I wouldn’t say this makes up for all of Friday-Saturday, free stuff is always a mood lifter.

One response to “of free stuff

  1. Pingback: of fortresses and wishes | That One Time in Seoul·

Leave a Reply

