of esl problems

Unicorn. Museum. Tulip. Puma. Muffin.

Which one of these things is not like the other?

say them all out loud if you’re not sure

My younger classes are laid out essentially the same, which is why I like them.  Every class there a new sound, for example yesterday was “U”.

Everyone repeat after me shout “UUUUUUU!”

whisper “uuuuu”

sing “UuUuUuUu”

whale noise: “UUUUUUuuuuuuu”

This is me literally every morning. They think it’s funny every time.

Then the textbook gods picked out 10 vocabulary words with that sound that are apparently the most commonly used.

Yes I absolutely do talk about pumas every day

So there are these flashcard games I made up that we play while saying the words and it’s like, okay, I understand the concept even if tulip isn’t on my personal top 100 words I say every day.

But then there are actual problems.

Me: /shows picture of muffin/ okay and the last word?

Kids: MOOOFFIN

….no….

Then I have to say that the textbook is being silly and that even though we are talking about uniforms and tulips and pumas, we are not talking about mooffins.

I’m sure there will be many more posts like this, so just consider this the first of a series.

Leave a Reply

