Of Avalon Langcon

This post is for anyone who was just as confused about Avalon Langcon as I was. Here are the facts I gained at training–or at least how I understand them.

-“Langcon” stands for Language Content.

-Langcon is not a difference in age, but in teaching integration. Foreign teachers teach “Language Arts” while the Korean teachers teach Social Studies and Science in English (with the aid of Korean for confusing concepts). Sometimes the foreign teachers will also teach Social Studies and Science, but not usually.

-There are 3 “groups” and 3-4 levels within each group. Each have names based off of Columbus’ journey which kind of make sense but also make it really difficult to memorize. Students “level up” when they pass a test at the end of a term. There are three terms named after colors that aren’t even in ROYGBIV order.

It’s like they’re testing me before I teach

There are multiple books per level, and they change every term. For instance, I have 13 of them. That I have to know front and back. And will all change in 3 months.

FullSizeRender 4

Thought you were done with textbooks when you graduated? Nope.

Director Jane told me that when she received her books, she didn’t sleep for 4 days but instead read and studied them all. She said this in a casual, “this is what I did…but you don’t have to–if you want to be mediocre” type of tone.

that’s an interesting thought

However, she did give me literally all day today (8 hours) to prepare. And I had to use every minute of it. I think she really wants me to succeed, which is nice. I don’t feel that way often.

-You will have a week of training, and in my case I only had to go Monday, Wednesday, and Friday. Monday was Avalon brainwashing, Wednesday was Langcon brainwashing, and Friday is mock teaching–in front of everybody. Some schools have elementary, Langcon, and middle school, in which case you have to go all five days.

-There are both “corporate” and “franchise” Langcons. I’m not entirely sure what that means, but only 2 out of the 30 people at my training were franchise. Maybe that’s just the recruiting agency I went through.

-Every single person I’ve talked to has been in a love motel for the past 2 weeks. More on love motels in a later post (they’re exactly as glorious as they sound). They do this because the teachers before you have to finish up their contract so there’s an overlap time before you can take over their apartment.

-At the end of every training session you are given a little short answer test. It’s not hard, but apparently the results are sent to your Director. So… pay attention.

My favorite part of training was when she went through this one section of one of the books and was like, “this is the most boring of all the sections you’ll have to teach so let us know if you find ways to make it fun.” I look through the pages I was assigned to mock teach (everyone is given their own pages) and, naturally, those were the exact three pages I was assigned.

seriously.

No–actually–my favorite part of the day was when the presenter went through the Social Studies and Science portions in literally 15 minutes. She’s all, “most of you will just be teaching the language arts and the Korean teachers will be teaching Social Studies and Science so this is just an overview of what’s going on on the other side.” She talked so fast and everyone was like

This is all fine and dandy except for I learned today that I will, in fact, be teaching Social Studies and Science. This must be a part of the whole, “I think you’re capable” phenomenon that was really just a result of some maple syrup and now I’m regretting both giving her a gift and not paying closer attention during training.

Me heading towards Monday

But alas, it is what it is.

I can do hard things

Leave a Reply

