That Time I Spent All Day in a Coffee Shop

I woke up this morning on my floor wrapped in my snuggie. It was rather disturbing, since I don’t remember moving there. And especially since it was at the foot of my bed where I had to have moved my suitcases, so I obviously didn’t roll off. I sat up and remembered waking up in the night being cold, and realized that now I was extremely warm.

Everyone–I subconciously woke up in my sleep and curled up on the floor in my snuggie without even a pillow, because I was cold.

I’m not entirely sure how I feel about this, but it’s the kind of feeling a song should be written about.

very, very confused

Anyway, I got over that feeling and went to find a coffee shop because that was my mission for the day–get these blogs up. It’s going to be difficult the next few weeks because I have to use public wifi before school, but they don’t open until 10-11 so it’s just finding the right time.

Also, I learned that most of the small ones are closed because of Lunar Holiday, so only the chains are open. But that’s okay because the phrase “on every corner” does not apply to coffee shops in Korea. It’s more like “on every sidewalk square.” There are SO many.

And I’ve been in one for the past eight hours, using their internet. I’ve had three meals here today. For breakfast, I tried their Mirugasu coco, which tasted like cement. Don’t ask me how I know what cement tastes like. For lunch I had a mint chocolate iced drink which was delicious except it was mostly ice and therefore not a good deal. But I stayed for dinner and had chocolate bubble tea, which is like watered down chocolate milk and squishy tapioca balls in the bottom.

me, except not as cute

I made sure to not get a meal until the shift changed because going up to the same girl after 4 hours would be a little weird. And it’s not like I look like someone else who came through today…

My winning moment of the day was in the afternoon when I went to order the mint chocolate. The drink is actually called “mint chocolate frappe”. But if you read it straight out like that, they just look at you confused. No–you have to read it in a Korean accent or they won’t understand. Korean doesn’t have any digraphs (I sound smart don’t I?) so whenever there are two consonants next to each other you have to add a vowel. The vowel is written “ㅡ” and it kind of sounds like “eu” but not really. There is no English equivalent. And is there no “f” as I mentioned before. So even though the menu says, in English, “mint chocolate frappe” you have to pronounce it, “minteu chocolat prapeh”. And that’s an easy example. They can get really hard. Anyway, today the cashier today told me I “spoke really good Korean” after ordering, which is funny because those are English words. Also, I don’t speak Korean but regardless:

So, I can officially say I understand this song completely now. I saw every single one of the things they mention.

These guys literally rock

FullSizeRender 2

This guy’s been here almost as long as me

FullSizeRender

sugohessoyo!

FullSizeRender 3

literally me, except alone

Homework guy just left.

Mallory: 1

Korea: 0

And they said Americans don’t have any work ethic.

Leave a Reply

